Update postgres documentation master
authorJean-Michel Vourgère <nirgal@debian.org>
Mon, 6 Jan 2014 13:38:25 +0000 (14:38 +0100)
committerJean-Michel Vourgère <nirgal@debian.org>
Wed, 22 Nov 2017 14:45:34 +0000 (15:45 +0100)
doc/README.postgres

index 9e626dae8501de0662d11767b3f2b393615e75af..f105061c1366bfe491dd396460e76256941c76fd 100644 (file)
@@ -1,6 +1,8 @@
 This is the documentation if you want to use mailmerge (not needed)
 
-Databases must be registered in the openoffice registry of user oomailing
+First make sure you installed package openoffice.org-sdbc-postgresql on Debian, or on Windows, using Tools/Package Manager from the menu, then click on "Add" and select postgres-sdbc-0.7.5.zip that you've downloaded from http://dba.openoffice.org/drivers/postgresql/index.html
+
+Databases must be registered in the openoffice registry of user oomailing.
 
 The easy way to do that is to lunch openoffice as oomailing:
 
@@ -13,13 +15,14 @@ user@host:~$ ssh -X oomaling@localhost
 Lunch openoffice
 oomailing@host:~$ soffice
 
-If necessary, load sdbc-postgres driver, using Tools/Package Manager from the menu, then click on "Add" and select postgres-sdbc-0.7.5.zip that you've downloaded from http://dba.openoffice.org/drivers/postgresql/index.html
-On modern distro, you might prefer to install the package:
-host:~# apt-get install openoffice.org-sdbc-postgresql
-
 You need to restart openoffice after that. Also restart oomailing server:
 host:~# /etc/init.d/oomailing restart
 
-You might need to register databases. Launch openoffice again:
+You need to register databases.
+Database url should be something like "dbname=ngw host=localhost password=secretpassord" and username should be setup correctly
+Save your file such as guideogm.odb
+
+Launch openoffice again:
 oomailing@host:~$ oowriter
 Then choose Edit/Select Database from the menu. Here you can add a database, such as /var/www/guideogm/static/guideogm.odb
+